I made play dough! I’m still very new to the whole being an early years teacher. This is the first class younger than year 3 that I have been officially responsible for, longer than a couple of days. So for me creating activities and planning educational play are unknown territory.

I have been googling and Pinterest searching for ideas each week. A lot of the time an activity using play dough comes up. I’ve looked in the shops and it’s far to expensive to buy. So i thought i would give it a try to make it.

First thing I did was a Pinterest search. Most recipes use cornstarch. I know that we don’t have any and I wasn’t going to go and buy some. So tried a new search for recipes that don’t use cornstarch. I found quite a few.

I watched this video here which shows you how to make a good play dough.

A word of caution split up the mixture even if you are going to make it all the same colour. I didn’t and it was HARD work mixing it all up in one.

how to make play dough

All you need is:

4 cups of flour
1 1/2 cups salt
2 tbsp oil
1 cup of warm water
food colouring

Mix the wet ingredients into a bowl, Then mix the dry ingredients into a separate bowl. Add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix together. Flour the work top and kneed the dough until it feels right in your hand and doesn’t stick. Keep it wrapped up tight and in an air tight container.

How to make play dough ingredients

Hello there_ alex

11 thoughts on “How to make quick and easy playdough

  1. Word to the wise about homemade versus store bought… Keep it covered or it will be a rock in no time. My mom made it for me all the time and then we’d also use it to make cutout ornaments you could paint.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you

